D.I.Why? Secret Painting Bulletin Board

Dear You,

See this painting? I hope so, it’s right in front of your face.

But guess what? It’s not a painting. It’s a bulletin board. Would you like to know how I made it? Me neither. But I’ll tell you anyway. First, I went to the art supply store where scary artist sales associate helped me find canvas. It costs about $7 a yard. I got mine from Dick Blick.

I used acrylic paint I had leftover from a previous project. It’s a very pretty color of navy blue.

I watered the paint down to give it a tie-dye look. This caused a beautiful watercolor effect, which made me happy.

Now, a word to the wise. Never, under any circumstances, attempt to use this item:

It’s a miter box for a saw that I was trying to use to make a frame. And it’s the hardest thing in the world to use. I tried to use this one, sweating and crying for 45 minutes before I gave up and went over to my friend’s house to have him cut the stupid wood on his chop saw. For the frame of the bulletin board, I used 3/4″ x 3″ pine. And so should you. After cutting the frame I glued the canvas painting onto the bulletin board (which I’d painted blue before in a failed attempt to make it look pretty). I used school glue. Which you can pretty much use for anything.

I mixed the glue with water to thin it down and make an even coat on the bulletin board.

I used wood glue on the back to secure the canvas around the bulletin board.

When everything was dry, I glued the bulletin board into the frame I’d made (I don’t really want to talk about how I made the frame because it’s boring. Basically just screw four pieces of wood together). To attach the frame to the bulletin board I used wood glue, which is incredibly strong even though it smells just like white glue.

Then, I painted the frame white. With flat house paint. I wanted the look to be more matte, so I didn’t use semi-gloss or gloss like I normally would have. Flat paint scuffs up more though, so be ready to maniacally clean if you, too, choose flat paint.

This is what the final product looks like. It’s like a painting, but you can pin things to it. If you’ve ever fantasized about stabbing pins into pieces of art (and who hasn’t?), this is the bulletin board for you. My problem with most bulletin boards is that they are ugly and the cork is a gross color. This bulletin board solves all those problems and then some. So are you sold? Are you making yours yet? Hurry!

Here is the bulletin board with a few things on it. The one I made is actually for a client so the things on it aren’t mine. It still needs much more stuff on it but I thought it would be weird to fill someone else’s bulletin board for them so I left some blank space.

Up close, you can really see how pretty an watery the paint is. Glamour.

And here it is in the office it now calls home.

I hope you all go out and make a bulletin board disguised as a painting now. It’s much more interesting than one that just looks like an ugly old bulletin board.

Love,
Orlando

15 Comments

Filed under Decor

15 responses to “D.I.Why? Secret Painting Bulletin Board

  1. Elisa

    Love it! I totally need one!

  2. I need one for my office too! Lovely new business for you! (raises hand for first one)

  3. Miss Circumstance

    so good!!

  4. Ben

    Hi – love the effect you created here. I wanted to know a little about your technique. Did you mix the water into the paint before you painted, or alternated? Any other tips If I wanted to do this? I tried earlier today to recreate what you’ve done and I came out pretty different.

  5. priscilla

    it’s so pretty by itself, i wouldn’t want to pin anything!

  6. oh i like it.. very cool

  7. I like it as a painting, it’s so pretty and watery, seems a shame to stick things in front of it, thanks for the tip on diluting the white glue for easier spreadability

  8. dear orlando,
    i’m now dreaming about matte gold push pins.
    love it!
    thank you for being awesome.

  9. Scottt Horne

    this is really super great!

  10. “To attach the frame to the bulletin board I used wood glue, which is incredibly strong even though it smells just like white glue.” My absolute favorite sentence in this post. Love it and the bulletin board.

  11. Homme boy you are funnnay!

  12. jennie

    I tried to use on of those yellow mitre boxes. It was the most horrible 1 1/2. and it was not really that helpful. Glad to know it was not just me.

  13. Pingback: DIY: Opslagstavle | Bungalow5

  14. Hollie @ I'm Busy Procrastinating

    Orlando, I bow to your artistic talents. What a nice painting … I mean bulletin board. Do continue to share your artistry with us … including the how-to’s!

  15. Kevin Orlin Johnson

    Yep, plastic miter boxes are a cruel joke. Get yourself a proper metal one, if you can find one in these sad latter days of ours. They work great! If you can find one.

Leave a comment